Metagame Book Club

Yesterday I started reading For the Win by Cory Doctorow and am currently downloading World of Warcraft – yes, it’s true. As total n00b, I am a bit intimidated, but I know that I am in good hands. I am doing all of this as part of a book club – the #Metagame Book Club+. I learned about this group through the ISTE Virtual Environments Network and as a non-gamer who teaches gamers, I look forward to learning from these dedicated educators, researchers, and gamers about how to better understand the gaming world.

For now, I’m just trying to take it all in and I have so many questions:

  1. How many hours do people typically spend playing these games?
  2. What are the most popular games?
  3. What are the most welcoming gaming communities?
  4. How do these communities reflect “real life”?
  5. Why do they stop playing?

…and so many more.

I will continue to document my experience here.

